NOTE: State and federal laws change frequently and the following information may not reflect recent changes in the laws. For current tax or legal advice, please consult with an accountant or an attorney since the information contained in this article is not tax or legal advice and is not a substitute for tax or legal advice.
There are two types of taxes that can be assessed against your property after you die - estate taxes and inheritance taxes, both of which are commonly referred to as death taxes.
What is an estate tax?
An estate tax is a tax imposed by a state or federal government on the right to transfer property to your heirs after your death. As of January 1, 2014, the District of Columbia and the following states impose a separate state estate tax: Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, and Washington. Refer to the State Estate Tax and Exemption Chart for a list of each state's estate tax exemption. With regard to the federal estate tax, the exemption was $5,000,000 for 2010 and 2011, $5,120,000 for 2012, $5,250,000 for 2013 and $5,340,000 in 2014.
What is an inheritance tax?
An inheritance tax is a tax imposed by a state government on the privilege of certain heirs to receive a deceased person's assets. As of January 1, 2014, the following six states collect an inheritance tax - Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey and Pennsylvania (Indiana's state inheritance tax was repealed effective January 1, 2013). In all six states assets left to a surviving spouse are exempt from the tax, but only four states exempt transfers to descendants. Note that Tennessee collects what is referred to in its state statutes as an inheritance tax, but the tax is based on the value of the decedent's property, not on who receives the property, so Tennessee is listed above in reference to estate taxes. Refer to the State Inheritance Tax Chart for more information about state inheritance taxes.